Truelocal Advertising

April 9, 2010 at 1:52 am 7 comments


First let me say, I’m seriously trying to advertise one of my businesses on Truelocal, I’m not just having a go at Truelocal because I happen to run a business directory in competition with them. I’ve been working on our Fitness Training Centre ‘The TOUGH Spot’ and it’s almost ready, opening day is May the 2nd.

Anyways, I figured I’d try advertising on Truelocal and get some extra traffic. Boy, how hard is it to just get a simple price!? I get phone calls from them non stop, very aggressive sales team, they don’t get the message or don’t want to get the message. I’m a busy person, I don’t want any fluff, just give me a cost on how much to list my business. I’m thinking they don’t have one, they make it up as they go along.

I’ve emailed them this morning, asking just to email me the most basic package, right away I get a phone call “blah blah blahblah blah”, “mate, I’m at work!”, “OK, what time can I call you before work, after work?”, “No, just send me the prices by email and we’ll take it from there”..

If I don’t get anything from them via email this time, that’s it, I ain’t advertising on Truelocal.

Entry filed under: Advertising. Tags: .

32 seconds media – 32seconds-media.com = Spammers Leading Business Directory

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Taco Fleur  |  April 9, 2010 at 6:25 am

    Update – I did get the info I was after via email, but the product is so complicated I have no idea what I’m buying into. Sounds more like a Yellow Pages deal to me, no guarantees, lot’s of money, and all my risk… I went through this years ago with a web design business of mine, paid a fortune for advertising that supposed to be so great, got nothing from it.

    My argument is “if its so great, why not let me try it for a month, if it works I’ll be happy to pay”, their argument is then “ooh, we put so much work in a listing blah blah”, all crap, I can create the listing myself, I don’t need no one to copy text from my site and upload my images.

    I had a look at their listings for “Personal Trainer” “Brisbane City”, no one has anything else but a basic listing, I wonder why that is? Maybe they’ve all fallen for the trap, paid their upfront money, found out it ain’t worth it and let it expire…. Surely if the Top of List or Premium listing was so great, they’d have people buying them.

    Their sales team is so aggressive I hate it, the guy can’t seem to understand I’m at work, even when I tell him I want email communication only. But hey, I guess that’s why they make millions and I don’t make a buck..!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Christo  |  November 8, 2010 at 4:31 am

    True Local is a lot of twot. Expensive for no results and then give you the run around

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Lin  |  October 6, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    You are lucky you even got a call. I’ve been trying for 2 months to have a rep call me regarding prices and so far all I’ve recieved are emails saying that someone will contact me in a week. I wish there was a phone number to call so I could yell at someone, but alas, you have to have an account to do so, which I can’t get cos no one will get back to me. I wonder if they are out of business, I just don’t get it… I am actually wanting to pay them and they can’t even bother to get back to me. Grrrrr… So unbelievably frustrating!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Eric  |  July 12, 2012 at 8:16 am

    Do not advertise with True local, we have a free listing on their site,
    & someone posted a negative review which is totally incorrect and the client lied and was under the influence of alchohol, and abused our services etc, we contacted True Local via their online form and asked them to remove the neg listing only to be informed that it will remain, after many emails back and forth they have shown absolute and utter contempt in resolving an issue that has basicly nothing to do with them in the first place, BEWARE of sites that allow REVIEWS because if you run a business it is obvious that you cannot please every one 100% of the time no matter what you do to appease them.
    True Local has not only done the wrong thing by us but they have also shot themselves in the foot as we will never have a paid listing with them ever ( they could not even call me or offer a phone number for me to call them and speak in person so as to sort this out)
    Also these types of reviews remain on the page for all to see not like a social networking site where once something has been stated by somebody it moves further down a page never to be seen again,
    The Neg review is there for all time unless you are willing to seek legal action against the site ( TRUE LOCAL) which we are considering, this is not only incorrect, wrong, & defamatory but is also a RESTRICTION OF TRADE of sorts etc.
    True Local seems to have no business accumen and be run by people with no moral code of ethics.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. ausworkshop  |  May 27, 2016 at 2:40 am

    Yes, I agree with all the above. A complete rip off, the whole SEO industry is a complete rip off in my opinion. I think I might remove my listing on True Local after reading all this. I’ve been on there for years and it’s done nothing for my business. Now I’m worried I may one day finally get a review and it will hurt my business. They just don’t seem to want to help local business and all they are doing is taking money off poor struggling businesses with false promises.
    So typical of today, SEO is a complete rip off for the amount of work they do and the amount of time they really spend on your business. Something should be done, it’s time to stand up for ourselves but unfortunately we are even more powerless than ever.
    All I can do is warn as many others as I can.

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. Lindsay  |  May 27, 2016 at 10:48 am

      I totally agree with you, I have had many run ins with TLocal
      I am a small business who also said something had to be done about it as well,

      So I have started the DotMelbourne.melbourne website.

      A directory only for Melbourne Businesses or people wanting to be found locally.

      DotMelbourne will be like an Intranet of sorts!
      Ask me why?

      The DotMelbourne directory will circumnavigate Gurgle and you won’t need to keep doing SEO…. once it is setup using a long tail .melbourne domain name.

      The ONLY way you can get to be on the site is to own a .Melbourne

      This will be backed by an App – soon to appear…

      Contact me for any info you require.

      Lindsay
      DotMelbourne
      0405 997 070

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  • 7. PureLocal Australia  |  January 9, 2017 at 7:16 am

    Lately we have received several reports and read online statements confusing our company PureLocal (https://www.purelocal.com.au) with that of TrueLocal.

    We would like to set the record straight that we are not connected in anyway with TRUELOCAL and do not endorse or encourage their business practices.

    Note : If anyone has a TrueLocal listing which they cannot get removed , please contact us here at PureLocal and we will let you know how to remove your listing.

    Katie Manning
    PureLocal Australia
    https://www.purelocal.com.au

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 168,382 hits

